News Flash

Community News

Posted on: August 17, 2018

Galveston Police Department holds Promotion and Awards Ceremony

Galveston, TX – August 17, 2018 – The Galveston Police Department will be holding a Promotion and Awards Ceremony on Friday, August 17, 2018, at 6:30 p.m. in the Galleon Room at the Galveston Island Convention Center. During the ceremony, Detective Jeff Banks and Detective Charles Dodson will be promoted to the rank of Sergeant. 

Det. Banks has been with the Galveston Police Department since 2007. He is currently the lead detective in ‘Little Jacob’ case, which brought national media attention. Det. Banks achieved the highest score on the Police Sergeant Exam.

Det. Dodson has been with the Galveston Police Department since 2011. Currently, he is a member of the U.S. Marshal Service Gulf Coast Violent Offenders Task Force. He is also part of the Warrant Division and Mounted Police Units. Det. Dodson achieved the second highest score on the Police Sergeant Exam.

The effective date of the promotions is Saturday, August 18, 2018. “I am confident that our next two sergeants will make us stronger as a team,” said Chief of Police, Vernon Hale. “They both have shown commitment and have worked hard to earn this opportunity. Detective Jeff Banks and Detective Charles Dodson will definitely contribute to the success of the Department.”

Also, the following officers and civilians will be receiving recognition and awards during the ceremony: Ofc. Nabiel Alawar, Ofc. Brian Ali, Ofc. Jeremy Attaway, Det. Jeff Banks, Ofc. Michael Barton, Ofc. Brandon Bohnert, Ofc. Patrick Brosch, Ofc. Eric Carlson, Cpt. Larry Chambers, Ofc. Christopher Condy, Ofc. Edward Cornado, Sgt. John Courtney, Lt. Jonathan Coward, Ofc. Jeffrey Dagle, Ofc. Alex Dominguez, Ofc. Chris Doucette, Ofc. Ronnie Driver, Ofc. Joe Duenez, Ofc. Eduardo Eguis, Ofc. Daniel Erickson, Det. Loraine Franco, Ofc. Geoffrey Gainer, Ofc. David Gothard, Sgt. Herbert Graves, Sgt. Xavier Hancock, Ofc. Jovan Harris, Ofc. Scott Hirst, Ofc. Alfredo Lopez, Ofc. Kevin Mach, Sgt. Thomas Maffei, Ofc. Christian McCormack, Ofc. Tyson McMillan, Sgt. Christopher McNeil, Ofc. Michael Medina, Ofc.Clinton Millo, Sgt. Andre Mitchell, Ofc. Kameron Monneyham, Ofc. Milton Moody, Ofc. Colin Murphy, Ofc. Blake Patton, Ofc. Gordon Pean, Ofc. Jimmy Perez, Ofc. Zachary Perry, Ofc. Kristopher Pompa, Sgt. Justin Popovich, Sgt. Angela Rojas, Ofc. Jeffrey Rupert, Sgt. Robert Sanderson, Ofc. Holly Schirard, Cpt. Joshua Schirard, Ofc. Luis Silvas, Det. Dannie Simpson, Ofc. Larry Smith, Sgt. Randall Stansfield, and Lt. Clint Stevens.

Please join us at the Galveston Island Convention Center at 6:30 p.m. as we celebrate and recognize our officers and civilians that have demonstrated passion and commitment to our community. Members of the public as well as the media are welcome to attend this ceremony.

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email