Upcoming Election - May 4, 2024

A General Election will occur on Saturday, May 4, 2024 for the following purpose:  (1) to elect a Mayor At-Large; and (2) to elect six District Council Members; each for a two-year term.

The filing period for candidates will open on January 17, 2024 at 8 a.m. and will remain open until February 16, 2024 at 5:00 p.m. The council members elected to represent the districts shall have been domiciled and shall have his or her principal physical residence in such district for a period of not less than one year immediately preceding the council member’s election. Council positions are unpaid.  For complete information about voting, please visit galvestonvotes.org.

Election Notices

Candidates for the May 4, 2024 Election

Craig Brown - Mayor                                                                                                                   Frank Thomas Maceo - Mayor
Sharon Lewis - District 1
David Finklea - District 2
Luke Bohlman - District 2                                                                                                           Paul Morgan - District 2 
Jeff Ehrich - District 3                                                                                                                 Bob Brown - District 3
Mike Bouvier - District 4                                                                                                               Alexander Porretto - District 4
Michael Niebuhr - District 5
Beau J. Rawlins - District 5
Marie Robb - District 6

Early Voting/Election Day

Early voting by personal appearance shall begin on Monday, April 22, 2024, and end on Tuesday, April 30, 2024, and shall be conducted during the following hours: 

(Tentative) Early voting locations:

Galveston County Justice Center, 600 59th Street, Galveston, TX 77551
Galveston County Courthouse, 722 Moody Street, Galveston, TX 77550
Seaside Baptist Church, 16534 Termini-San Luis Pass Rd., Galveston, TX 77554
Moody Methodist Church, 2803 53rd Street, Galveston, TX 77551
COG Historic Pump Station, 715 30th Street, Galveston, TX 77550
Galveston ISD Administration Building, 3904 Avenue T, Galveston, TX 77550

  1. Janelle Williams

    City Secretary

  2. Nellie De La Fuente

    Assistant City Secretary

  3. Martha Alvarez

    Sr. Administrative Assistant

  4. Alice Hinojosa

    Records Management Specialist

  5. City Secretary Department

    Physical Address

    Galveston, TX 77553

Photo ID Required for Voting in Texas

Voters will be required to show one of the following forms of photo identification at the polling location before being permitted to cast a vote:

  • Texas Driver's License
  • Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS
  • Texas Personal Identification Card
  • Texas Concealed Handgun License
  • United States Military Identification Card containing the person's photograph
  • United States Citizenship Certificate containing the person's photograph
  • United States Passport

Visit the Texas Secretary of State's website for information on changes to Texas Law that requires photo identification for all voters.

Mayor & Council Member Qualifications

At the time of election, each council member shall be a qualified voter of the City of Galveston, and shall hold no other elective public office nor be an employee of the city or any agency of the city. Each City Council member elected to represent a district shall have been domiciled and a resident of such district for a period of not less than one year, immediately preceding the council member's election. Each council member elected at-large shall have been domiciled and a resident of the city for a period of not less than one year, immediately preceding the council member's election. If a council member shall cease to possess any of these qualifications, or shall be convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude, the office of the council member shall immediately become vacant.